Explore Portland’s history and architectural treasures. The Portland Observatory (1807) is owned by the City of Portland and operated as a museum and historic site by Greater Portland Landmarks. Guided tours focus on maritime history, the purpose and importance of the structure, and changes in Portland over the last two centuries.
The Observatory is a unique site conducive to small functions and is available for a modest fee from May through October. Please note that there is no running water at the Observatory, and that the building is unheated. Restrooms are available at the community center next door. A maximum of 48 people are allowed in the building at any one time, and a limit of 8 people may be on the lantern deck.
The Portland Observatory is located at 138 Congress Street, on Munjoy Hill in the East End of Portland.
Please email us or call for more information. (207) 774-5561 x104